A Test of Character

In a few hours, I will be going on for an interview and test for a job I’m applying at my alma mater. Earlier today (or yesterday coz it’s past midnight) I had an argument with a friend. This friend is part of the school. The argument was so intense it threatened to end our friendship.

I didn’t want that to happen a day before my job interview. I tried to ignore it but it kept on messing with my head.

But then I realized it was a test. Even before my interview, it was a test of whether I’m really qualified. Far more than aptitude, of skill, of intelligence.

It was a test of character.

And I realized what the right thing to do was. Make amends. It was just similar to what the Bible teaches about going to worship and something’s wrong:

Therefore if you are presenting your offering at the altar, and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your offering there before the altar and go; first be reconciled to your brother, and then come and present your offering. (Matthew 5:23-24)

So I resolved something in my heart. I texted, and made amends:

I am not going to the interview unless we are in good terms. Our friendship is more important than the job.

5 thoughts on “A Test of Character

  1. Yoh Jeddy! wazzupened mohn?
    hmmm… from the looks of it (posts sa facebook), murag si Sir D ang imo ka-argue..tama ko? Hope magkapeace na mo dayon… God bless..

Leave a Reply

