Crossroads

There are times in your life that you really have to choose.

Everyday we make many, many decisions. At the moment we wake up, we already make our first few decisions: if I will come to school early or not, what shirt I will wear, will I eat breakfast now or later, things like that. If you don’t decide, you are actually deciding to not decide!

But my point is, decisions are not something we just face from time to time. There are small decisions. There are also big ones. Some of our small decisions can impact us greatly. But many of them are just trivial day-to-day things to get by.

In about twenty years of living, I remember a few times when I face big, tough decisions in life. These are times when what you decide will determine the rest of your life. These are points where you can’t just wait till choices merge into one. There’s no turning back.

I refer to these decision-making points in life as crossroads. You’re there travelling in one road, easy-piecy, when suddenly it breaks into two or more. You have to continue life’s journey in one of them.

Crossroads are oftentimes difficult. When choices are white and black, right and wrong, nice and yucky, taking a pick is easy. But not in crossroads. Sometimes, it’s good, better, better, and best. Sometimes it’s worst, bad, worse, bad, worst. (If you get my point…)

What I mean is, crossroads give us many choices. When we weigh them in, we sometimes find ourselves in a dilemma coz we want more than one. Oftentimes, crossroads can only let us choose just one. We can’t have it all. We lose some to gain some.

How selfish can we get? We want to tread on several paths at the same time. But wanting so can only get us nowhere. It is stupid to hope that we can get by without choosing.

Actually, life is rid with these decision-making points to make us wiser. The principles of sowing and reaping, give-and-take, balance, discipline, gain-lose are all there.

What we choose and how we choose it… that is a tricky question. There is no standard operating procedure in facing crossroads than to first go down on your knees.

You see, you think you’re all alone. But you’re not. Everything that happens in your life is under God’s watchful eye. We only get by with crossroads by taking the road which leads us closer to Him. His will will be our compass.

There are times in your life that you must have to choose. True. Are you in a crossroad right now? Is it difficult to choose? I’ve been there. I’ve lived barely two decades in this life, but I’m big enough to know that crossroad decisions done in God’s wisdom are the best. Choose God’s will, no matter what.

Your will cannot lead me where Your grace will not keep me;
Your hand will protect me, I rest in Your care;
Your eyes will watch over me, Your love will forgive me;
And when I am faltering, I still will find You there.
—”Grace”

Leave a Reply

