Not the Hearts of Kings

I thought people around me are tougher than I am. Even girls. I thought their hearts cannot possibly wear out their guards. Such a load of respect for them. I am even hesitant to knock on their doors, doubting a lot if they’ll ever take the time to consider (and reconsider). I’m talking here about courtship and relationships.

But for a number of times, I feel I am wrong. I’ve seen it firsthand from the very people I know. I’ve watched their lives and how they were determined to be unmovable, but look at them…

I realized their hearts are also in the hands of God as the heart of kings…

The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD, as the rivers of water: he turneth it whithersoever he will.
Proverbs 21:1 (KJV)

Probably, they’re not goddesses, strong and decisive. God made them a ‘weaker vessel’, not to dishonor them, but to honor His own design for humans. Men are made to pursue, and women to be pursued. God delights in them, and I see that we delight so much in the act of pursuit in our own ways.

Though this open limitation may threaten girls and give men an opportunity to take advantage, it has always been designed for the ‘happy ending’, so all we have to do is to be extra cautious, discreet and wise in our decisions. We are so much weak in ways we can’t imagine, so much for the heart of kings, huh?

Because human heart is not that callous as we think, even the toughest hearts can be moved with the hand of God. That gives me hope and optimism for the future when I will start finding a helpmeet for myself (hehe).

Then I realize that a ‘labor of love’ is never in vain.

Leave a Reply

