Geek In The Pink’s Identity Uncovered

In my recent post, I mentioned about someone pen-named “Geek In The Pink” who published an open letter on bulletin boards around campus. Initially, I was engrossed about his/her message than his/her identity. You see, I have had a number of open letters before, and I basically don’t care that much of who they are (unless they don’t use pseudonyms). But this one is different.

This open letter was well-framed. For one, the message was written well and organized unlike previous pesky open letters which were just sort of deliberate insults to the author(s) written in street BisGlish (Bisaya-English). And another, the use of clever analogies and metaphors—in English—was a first-time, and I truly enjoyed thinking of how the writer would have come up with the ideas.

However, there were also pitfalls that the writer would have avoided. First, I was not properly addressed by my name: my surname was spelled with a Z instead of an S. Would I pout with the a.k.a Zaido Pink attribution? Nope, I love it, whatever it would mean to anyone. Next, the writer’s usage of the word “nemesis” made the whole piece topple objectively. Anyway, that’s how open letters are meant to be—subjective, most hitting below the belt. And as far as I’ve lived with responsible campus journalism, I despise that, believing that issues can be resolved in the proper way. But in the overall, the open letter was quite fine, getting my attention.

Because it did so, I began to be curious of the identity of the writer. How is he/she? Is the writer a student? Because students who are able to come up with such composition are elusive, save few. My classmates even considered the possibility of him or her being a faculty or staff of the university. Plus, his or her effort of encoding such letter, reproducing it and posting it was quite a work (well, for somebody who doesn’t care that much)!

But so much for that, because I have the answer. A colleague in the publication told me who she is, interrupting my discussion about the open letter. Ah-okay…she’s a she, ika nga. Without disclosing her name, let me tell how I know her. She happens to have been my classmate back when I had my English 12 with Dr. Tan, and she was a DevCom undergrad, before she shifted to another course. I could say she has the ability to communicate well, as she could speak well. However, I didn’t expect her to be that vigilant about the Ukay-Ukay issue.

At least, the fact that I know her makes it easy for me to handle the situation and address her concerns appropriately. Please refer to my previous post for her open letter, and I would probably post a PDF of the Ukay-Ukay article published in the first issue of the Amaranth SY 2007-2008. If you have something to suggest, please leave a comment.

10 thoughts on “Geek In The Pink’s Identity Uncovered

  1. at last, naka-ila na gyud ka kung kinsa si geek in the pink.. maybe you both could settle things personally.. para pud dili na mag-sige ug balik-balik ang issue..

  2. O nga.. since you knw her naman, i-approach mo kaya xa, syempre in a nice way naman para di xa mabigla.. pero ang tanong if gusto nya bang makipag-usap sayo tungkol sa issue na yan.. well, challenge mo yan jed! =)

  3. Do you(the two of you) really have to talk?

    Well, I reckon each of us is entitled for our own opinion and reactions even if they might be destructive or beneficial.

  4. There is something that is common to both of you. And I admire you both for that. You have the guts to write what you have in mind(or what you feel you have to write).

    Let’s just be honest here. To most, the ukay-ukay article was indeed offensive(especially to the designer) and subjective.

    For that matter, whoever wrote that open letter represented those who only mumbled about(against) the article but has done nothing.

    Just consider the article as a message/txt and the one who made the open-letter just responded to the txt sent to HER…

    We(CS3 members esp. 4th yr studz who are friends of our shirt’s designer) didn’t take it TOO personally though.. You have all the rights to write what you want in the Amaranth. You are the writer and we are the readers. And we also have all the rights to react.

    You do expect reactions from us, don’t you?

  5. Offensive and subjective are different words, te. An article may be offensive and still be objective in its true form. My ex was, in fact, ‘offended’ when I wrote that post about the new cell number.

    An article becomes subjective when it includes feelings or opinion that shouldn’t be included (being angry, outrageous, cursing, etc). An objective article bases its opinion on facts and principles.

    Ate Aiz, here’s something everybody else never knew: ‘Ukay-Ukay’, in its most original form, or first ever draft, was never that offensive. When I submitted this manuscript to our then Chief Editor, it was well written and I could say that the designers would never be offended. That was late October and after that, I left for Singapore.

    The other staff continued working on the first issue while I was away and I never noticed that my article changed its ‘tenor’ in the camera-ready layout. Si Ate Ireen diay, she edited my work, added extra lines and converted most sentences into past tense. What supposed to be a generalization sounded like a strong judgmental accusation. Something like this: (not exactly in the article)

    ORIGINAL: A t-shirt loses its meaning when the design is too much or too little.
    EDITED: The t-shirt lost its meaning because the design was too much or too little.

    Di ba, it becomes offensive? I can cite examples on my article because I know it too well. I only realized what happened when it was too late…and I have to face all these defamation and everything. Sorry for that… but it’s not basically my fault. The article was supposed to be a developmental article but it turned out to be the opposite. Thanks to our previous EIC.

  6. As I’ve said Jed, I’m not against you. It’s fine to write something like the “Ukay-ukay” article. We’ve somehow learned from it. And as I’ve commented also, FOR MOST it was REALLY offensive and subjective though you did not want it to become one.

    Writers and readers have different opinions. No matter what your purpose upon writing, it’s still the readers’ judgment that prevails.

    You might not wrote it subjectively but after publishing, it’s already out of your hands. It is then that the readers judge and make their own reactions about it and I must say most of such reactions are opinionated. That’s how the article becomes subjective. It is subjective FOR the READERS.

    OOps, we’re out of the topic na man=).

  7. Haha. VSU Life.

    Now, the Amaranth really sees it as a challenge to revive the ‘objectivity’ of the readers. Not that they’re really subjective, but the students really tend to be what we call ‘onion-skinned.’ Okay, it’s a diagnosis where solutions are very hard to prescribe. Readership, objectivity and the printed word is dying more and more everyday.

    Can’t anyone write an article out there? We’d love to hear from you…

  8. Hehehe…I didn’t know that you have a good sense of humor:

    “Thanks to our previous EIC”

    – it’s so ironical…hehehe….

Leave a Reply

