Why I Like Pink

Many people ask these questions over and over again: Why are you always wearing pink? Why is your mobile phone’s cover pink? Is pink your favorite color? Why pink? Are you gay?

Hold on! Let me explain.

First of all, I’m not gay. Fortunately, I’m not. Well, just because I always wear pink doesn’t mean I am gay. I even wear a white polo with light pink flowers printed on it (women would correct me with “floral”, it’s okay, it’s my prerogative) and it still looks masculine. Plus, I happen to have a number of pink shirts: it’s the color of my intramural faction, “Suntail Hawks”, back when I was in high school; for another reason, a special friend gave me a special pink Jag shirt, and my mom bought me the rest because she felt that I liked it. Not much of a girl thing, right?

Pink is not just feminine. It’s not just for girls. It’s soft, pastel attribute may have been a premise of associating it to women, but the association is not as rigid as it needs to be.

Why pink? The answer lies behind color psychology. What’s this?

Color psychology simply means the line of thinking behind colors. To tell you, researchers have proved that colors have meanings. These might be general and permanent, but some may vary from culture to culture. These meanings are very useful when using colors along with other media to carry across messages, especially in the visual market. Researches have tabulated colors and meanings, these being proven and tested in the commercial market.

And one of these is the Academic Color Psychology Matrix—simply put, a table showing how colors are associated to different academic fields. This table lists major fields in the academe such as Agriculture, Dentistry, Journalism, Divinity, and Engineering, including their corresponding colors.

I checked out pink (RGB: 255, 192, 203) and its academic equivalent is Music. Say, what a nice correspondence, eh?

You connect the dots. I love pink, and—oh—I love music! So that’s it, I like the color largely because I like music. There might be other reasons why I do so but they are very minor.

How it started, I have no idea, but one thing is clear: Color Psychology Matrices (CPM’s) are good references to one’s personality. With it, I can understand why people wear black, red or white. (And you can ask me for an exhaustive list of CPM’s, just shoot back a comment).

But yeah, that’s it, I like pink because music flows in my blood. Why? Hehe, I’m a musician.

3 thoughts on “Why I Like Pink

  1. thanks for the info jed! kaya pala i also like pink! hehehe.. music lover kaya din ako. di nga lang ako tulad mo na nilalaro lang ang mga notes! naka-compose ka na nga ng song diba? well, ako, na-aapreciate ko ung mga songs then i sing them. depende din yon sa type ng song. f i like the beat saka ung lyrics, then go ako dun. =)

  2. Haha, right. Thanks for your comments…hmmm, what more? Ah, sunod na…magkita ra baya ta sa dep’t…hehe…God bless

Leave a Reply

